Life is Here (Ironman 70.3 Davao)

On 24th March 2019, 2,200 triathletes joined together to the peaceful town of President Duterte, Davao City. They will compete (for some just to finish before the cut off time) in one of the most challenging race in the world.

 

Ironman is patented as one of the hardest endurance challenge (for the nth time in my previous blogs). It is consist of 2.4-mile swim, 112-mile bike ride and a 26.2-mile run, totaling to a 140.6-mile course. However, this Ironman is the half version, which is 70.3-mile.

 

I registered on this race thinking about vacation in the Philippines after 3 years of not going. Almost 2 months ago before this race, I just had a comeback Ironman race in Dubai. The result that time was bitter sweet yet expected. This time, in Davao, it was tough yet a good challenge.

 

I went into the race with little training (almost nothing), I was consistent during summer last year until the first part of winter, but came down with an injury and coaching. Since then a lot of wrinkles came up in my training plan, I did not do the distance that I should have (there was a week that I am not training).

 

Yes that was the reality, I do not have training (as considered), but I am fully convinced that I will finish this race just like the others that I had. Maintaining the mind-set of a champion even if my training was anything but.

 

I prepared myself mentally, thinking about the course and imagining myself completing each. Getting energy as well from the supporters from my group (3f striders), friends and family.

 

The race started 6:15 am and lasted well in the afternoon. It was a well-organized event. Nutrition was provided all throughout the course along with the medical teams and water to refresh us. Volunteers lined the course pathways to give out nutritional items and assist us if needed. The security was superlative, there were approximately 10,000 (way larger than the participants) police and army lined up the entire course safeguarding the participants.

 

On the race.

 

The swim portion took place in the Pakiputan straight (Azuela cove), following a single rectangular clockwise swim course heading north. Swim leg begins with 500m then turning 50m right followed by 850m heading south where the strong current slowed us down. Another right turn of 25m heading to 475m exiting the Azuela cove.

swim
Photo Credit: FinisherPix

Swim Time: 00:50:48,

T1: 00:05:28

 

Bike part was hard (for a person with no training). It was headwind leading north to the turn-around point in Tagum City. Coming back was tailwind and crosswind. Well, I thought I can still pull some energy and somewhat double my speed at the 45-km turning point, but due to very hot weather and bumpy road I couldn’t keep up. I almost faint at 75-km because of the unbearable 38-degree weather that took a toll on me (unfortunately, my girl is also in her monthly job). It was a flat course (shame on me) yet my longest and hardest bike ever (harder than my 100-km bike last summer in Dubai).

bike
Photo Credit: Dee

Bike Time: 03:43:40

T2: 00:05:52

 

The race ended with half marathon (21.1 km) heading to J.P Laurel Ave, consisting of three-rounds counter clockwise 6 km each round (originally, it was a two-loop counter-clockwise, 10 km out-and-back route). We passed on the commercial district of Davao where people lined up cheering on the participants. I was physically spent from the bike and couldn’t force my log legs to run any longer. I pulled my tried and tested strategy of 100 run – 100 walk and found myself walking not even completing the 100 count for the run part (ha-ha). After the first round, I happened to tap another energy to continue and successfully run the remaining distance (making a quick stop at the aid station for water and ice). The run / race ends at the finish line in Azuela Soccer field. The announcer called my name and I knew I did it.

run
Photo Credit: FinisherPix

Finish Time: 07:33:15

Run Time: 02:47:26

 

I have realized that preparation, combined with intelligent plan is very essential specially in such big race. I even advised my group to not tolerate the “no training no problem” phrase because it will create a bigger problem in the end (injury or worst). Surely the grace of God and protection is with us, however it takes wisdom and intelligence to be prepared.

It was a very humbling experience and thought me to push through the hard times.

 

Indeed, I cannot do this on my own, but with Daddy God Anything is Possible.

 

One more 70.3 to cap my 2019 and this time I will prepare.

finish
Photo Credit: FinisherPix

#MaitimMagandaMalakas

Leave a comment